ENGL 5255 - Technical & Professional Editing - Dr. Schreiber
Reference, Books, Journals, & Databases
Butcher's Copy-Editing by
Since its first publication in 1975, Judith Butcher's Copy-editing has become firmly established as a classic reference guide. This fourth edition has been comprehensively revised to provide an up-to-date and clearly presented source of information for all those involved in preparing typescripts and illustrations for publication. From the basics of how to prepare text and illustrations for the designer and typesetter, through the ground rules of house style, to how to read and correct proofs, Copy-editing covers all aspects of the editorial process. New and revised features: * up-to-date advice on indexes, inclusive language, reference systems and preliminary pages * a chapter devoted to on-screen copy-editing * guidance on digital coding and publishing in other media such as e-books * updated to take account of modern typesetting and printing technology * an expanded section on law books * an essential tool for new and experienced copy-editors, working freelance or in-house.
ISBN: 0521847133Publication Date: 2006-10-12
Content Strategy in Technical Communication by
Content Strategy in Technical Communication provides a balanced, comprehensive overview of the current state of content strategy within the field of technical communication while showcasing groundbreaking work in the field. Emerging technologies such as content management systems, social media platforms, open source information architectures, and application programming interfaces provide new opportunities for the creation, publication, and delivery of content. Technical communicators are now sometimes responsible for such diverse roles as content management, content auditing, and search engine optimization. At the same time, we are seeing remarkable growth in jobs devoted to these other content-centric skills. This book provides a roadmap including best practices, pedagogies for teaching, and implications for research in these areas. It covers elements of content strategy as diverse as "Editing Content for Global Reuse" and "Teaching Content Strategy to Graduate Students with Real Clients," while giving equal weight to professional best practices and to pedagogy for content strategy. This book is an essential resource for professionals, students, and scholars throughout the field of technical communication.
ISBN: 9780429577093Publication Date: 2019-09-19
The Copyeditor's Workbook by
Put your editing skills into practice with this new companion to the handbook on every copyeditor's desk. The Copyeditor's Workbook--a companion to the indispensable Copyeditor's Handbook, now in its fourth edition--offers comprehensive and practical training for both aspiring and experienced copyeditors. Exercises of increasing difficulty and length, covering a range of subjects, enable you to advance in skill and confidence. Detailed answer keys offer a grounding in editorial basics, appropriate usage choices for different contexts and audiences, and advice on communicating effectively with authors and clients. The exercises provide an extensive workout in the knowledge and skills required of contemporary editors. Features and Benefits Workbook challenges editors to build their skills and to use new tools. Exercises vary and increase in difficulty and length, allowing users to advance along the way. Answer keys illustrate several techniques for marking copy, including marking PDFs and hand marking hard copy. Book includes access to online exercises available for download.
ISBN: 0520294351Publication Date: 2019-05-14
The Craft of Editing by
You are a hired gun of sorts: a manager, scientist, or en gineer called upon to edit a document. Perhaps you are overseeing a long report or thesis, reviewing a journal article, or providing comments on a proposal. For the document before you, what changes do you suggest? How do you clearly and efficiently communicate those changes to the author? How do you convince the author and the other editors that those changes are needed? The answers to these questions define how you edit someone's writing. In business, engineering, and science, the process of editing causes much strife. In fact, my experience in teach ing professional writing over the past fifteen years has been that editing is the number one complaint that pro fessionals have about the process of documenting their work. Many professionals complain that this editing seems to arise more from whim than from logic-that what flies in one document is often shot down in another. Others complain that editors change too much, essentially inserting their own individual styles. Still others complain that the sign-off process is so inefficient and taxing that they sometimes do not document work they know should viii Preface be documented. While in many cases these complaints are unfounded, in many others they are legitimate. This book addresses those complaints that are legitimate by showing managers, scientists, and engineers how to make their editing both more effective and more efficient.
ISBN: 0387989641Publication Date: 1999-12-21
A Dash of Style by
A practical guide to the art of punctuation for creative writers covers such topics as word economy, punctuation style, and clear writing techniques, in a reference that is complemented by writing exercises and examples from classic works of literature.
ISBN: 9780393060874Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Editing by
This book is intended to familiarize readers with the theoretical basis and practical applications of the editing process. This involves the examination of the rhetorical canons-invention, arrangement, style, delivery; and the corresponding rhetorical objectives of editing - accuracy, clarity, propriety, and artistry. We envision a diverse audience for this book. For aspiring editors, we offer an introduction to rhetorical principles as a vehicle for developing a repertoire of theoretically sound and effective strategies. For professionals-directors of communications, public relations specialists, experienced writers and editors of professional and technical publications - this book will serve as a reference and guide reinforcing their intuitive understanding and appreciation of the art of editing.
ISBN: 9781351854498Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Editing As Cultural Practice in Canada by
This collection of essays focuses on the varied and complex roles that editors have played in the production of literary and scholarly texts in Canada. With contributions from a wide range of participants who have played seminal roles as editors of Canadian literatures--from nineteenth-century works to the contemporary avant-garde, from canonized texts to anthologies of so-called minority writers and the oral literatures of the First Nations--this collection is the first of its kind. Contributors offer incisive analyses of the cultural and publishing politics of editorial practices that question inherited paradigms of literary and scholarly values. They examine specific cases of editorial production as well as theoretical considerations of editing that interrogate such key issues as authorial intentionality, textual authority, historical contingencies of textual production, circumstances of publication and reception, the pedagogical uses of edited anthologies, the instrumentality of editorial projects in relation to canon formation and minoritized literatures, and the role of editors as interpreters, enablers, facilitators, and creators. Editing as Cultural Practice in Canada situates editing in the context of the growing number of collaborative projects in which Canadian scholars are engaged, which brings into relief not only those aspects of editorial work that entail collaborating, as it were, with existing texts and documents but also collaboration as a scholarly practice that perforce involves co-editing.
ISBN: 1771120940Publication Date: 2016-05-20
Editing in the Modern Classroom by
Editing in the Modern Classroom is a research‐based collection that defines the current state of technical editing pedagogy and plots a potential roadmap for its future. It examines current academic and professional editing practices, the global and corporate contexts of technical communication programs, and the role of new challenges such as content management in order to assess what should be expected from editing courses today and how instructors can best structure their courses to meet these expectations. It provides a research foundation to determine where changes are needed, and points to areas where additional research must be done to support further curricular and pedagogical innovations. Editing in the Modern Classroom challenges instructors to look deeper at the pedagogical aspects of what makes up an effective technical editing course at undergraduate and graduate levels and provides them with comprehensive and evidence-based resources to design and teach these courses.
ISBN: 9781351132749Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Fearless Editing by
Fearless Editing clearly articulates the basic concepts underlying editing techniques and demonstrates their application for newspapers, public relations, magazines and Web pages. This text takes a conceptual approach that integrates verbal skills with visual elements. Unlike other texts that are clearly designed for print, this book includes multi-media applications in every chapter.
ISBN: 9781317348313Publication Date: 2017-09-29
New Perspectives on Technical Editing by
New Perspectives on Technical Editing provides readers with a rich picture of a thriving discipline. Its 10 chapters are written by various experts in the field, each of whom looks at technical editing from a distinct vantage point, setting challenging questions and offering authoritative recommendations based on experience and research. Contributors examine significant approaches to the practice and teaching of technical editing: the recommended research methodologies, the not entirely straightforward history of technical editing, effective approaches to developing editing courses, the politics of editing within today's organizations, the definition and on-the-job work of copyediting, the power of electronic editing, the complex nature and best practices of science editing, and the nuts and bolts of successfully editing technical journals. Readers will find insights into background literature, trends, responsibilities, workflow, legal issues, ethics, tricks of the trade, unanticipated complications, business know-how, considerations of audience, interpersonal relations, and strategies for different media that they can apply in their own work and research. Each contributor provides substantive chapter references, and the book's annotated bibliography describes and evaluates 100 of the most influential and useful editing resources.
ISBN: 1351842730Publication Date: 2017-03-02
A Poetics of Editing by
This original and authoritative book offers a first-ever attempt to define a poetics of the editing arts. It proposes a new field of editing studies, in which the 'ideal editor' can be understood in relation to the long-theorised author and reader. The book's premise is that editing, like other forms of 'making', is mostly invisible and can only be brought into full view through a comparative analysis that includes the insights of practitioners. The argument, laid down in careful layers, is supported by a panoramic historical narrative that tracks the shifts in textual authority from religious and secular institutions to the romanticised self of the digital present. The dangers posed by the anti-editing rhetoric of this hybrid romanticism are confronted head-on. To the traditional perception of editing as the imposition of closure, A Poetics of Editing adds a perspective on a dynamic process with a sense of the possible.
ISBN: 9783319922454Publication Date: 2018-09-13
Problems of Editing by
This collection of essays attempts to address some problems of editorial theory and practice which its contributors have either encountered in their own work as practicing editors or as critical users of English editions. It also discusses more general questions, i.e. linguistic problems of editing, the problems of editing bilingual editions or school editions and the difficult economics of scholarly editions today. There are also essays on editing performance poetry, the waning impact of analytical bibliography, the role of teaching and learning editing as well as on the situation of editorial theory and practice among Anglicists in Germany. Several of the essays in this volume began their lives as papers for a workshop on »Editorial Problems« held at the annual meeting of the German 'Anglistentag' in Gießen in September 1997.
ISBN: 3110939959Publication Date: 2012-01-02
Punctuation Revisited by
Punctuation Revisited is an advanced, comprehensive guide to the importance of punctuation in conveying meaning and augmenting the power of a message. Richard Kallan provides guidance on how to structure sentences accurately and in a manner that enhances their readability and rhetorical appeal. This book discusses in fine detail not just when and how to employ specific punctuation marks, but the rationale behind them. It also notes when the major academic style manuals differ in their punctuation advice. These unique features are designed to benefit beginning, intermediate, and advanced students of standard punctuation practice. Punctuation Revisited is a wonderful resource for students of composition and writing, an essential read for writing center tutors and faculty, as well as the perfect addition to anyone's professional library.
ISBN: 9780429807206Publication Date: 2020-03-25
Revising and Editing by
Drawing on a wealth of models, checklists, and guidelines, Revising & Editing shows classroom teachers how to address the teaching of specific revising and editing skills to improve both fiction and nonfiction writing.
ISBN: 1551381303Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Technical Writing for Business People by
Technical writing is about communicating key information to the people who need it. It might be a manual for an application, a guide to using heavy machinery, or a diagnostic aide for medical practitioners. It needs to be clear and it needs to be precise. This book shows you how to achieve this and more. Whatever the content or context, in this book you'll discover the essential tools and resources that you need to create technical writing that works for everyone.
ISBN: 1780174489Publication Date: 2018-09-06
What Editors Do by
Editing is an invisible art where the very best work goes undetected. Editors strive to create books that are enlightening, seamless, and pleasurable to read, all while giving credit to the author. This makes it all the more difficult to truly understand the range of roles they inhabit while shepherding a project from concept to publication. In What Editors Do, Peter Ginna gathers essays from twenty-seven leading figures in book publishing about their work. Representing both large houses and small, and encompassing trade, textbook, academic, and children's publishing, the contributors make the case for why editing remains a vital function to writers--and readers--everywhere. Ironically for an industry built on words, there has been a scarcity of written guidance on how to actually approach the work of editing. This book will serve as a compendium of professional advice and will be a resource both for those entering the profession (or already in it) and for those outside publishing who seek an understanding of it. It sheds light on how editors acquire books, what constitutes a strong author-editor relationship, and the editor's vital role at each stage of the publishing process--a role that extends far beyond marking up the author's text. This collection treats editing as both art and craft, and also as a career. It explores how editors balance passion against the economic realities of publishing. What Editors Do shows why, in the face of a rapidly changing publishing landscape, editors are more important than ever.
ISBN: 9780226300030Publication Date: 2017-10-06
Writing for Business by
Build essential skills and write with confidence at work! Immediately practical guide to better business writing designed to help you develop a clear, direct, natural communication style that supports rather than obscures what you want to say. It covers writing principles relevant for a wide range of business documents, including email, letters, memos, reports, proposals, and more, while also offering editing tips to ensure you come across as professional and polished. Packed with examples and tips straight from the workplace.
ISBN: 1529303540Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Technics: Media in the Digital Age by
Technics gathers leading international media scholars to rethink technology for the contemporary digital era. The volume's 28 contributors provide cutting-edge theoretical, historiographical, and methodological reflections on media and technology. Chapters explore the ideas of Walter Benjamin, Ursula Le Guin, Bernhard Siegert, Gilbert Simondon, and Sylvia Wynter in conjunction with urgent issues such as ableism, algorithms, digital infrastructures, generative AI, and geoengineering. An expansive collection of writings on media technologies in the digital age, Technics is an essential resource for students and scholars of film and media studies, digital humanities, science and technology studies, and the philosophy of technology.
ISBN: 9048564565Publication Date: 2024-04-19
Developmental Editing: a Handbook for Freelancers, Authors, and Publishers by
Editing is a tricky business. It requires analytical flair and creative panache, the patience of a saint and the vision of a writer. Transforming a manuscript into a book that edifies, inspires, and sells? That's the job of the developmental editor, whose desk is the first stop for many manuscripts on the road to bookdom--a route ably mapped out in the pages of "Developmental Editing." Author Scott Norton has worked with a diverse range of authors, editors, and publishers, and his handbook provides an approach to developmental editing that is logical, collaborative, humorous, and realistic. He starts with the core tasks of shaping the proposal, finding the hook, and building the narrative or argument, and then turns to the hard work of executing the plan and establishing a style. "Developmental Editing" includes detailed case studies featuring a variety of nonfiction books--election-year polemic, popular science, memoir, travel guide--and authors ranging from first-timer to veteran, journalist to scholar. Handy sidebars offer advice on how to become a developmental editor, create effective illustration programs, and adapt sophisticated fiction techniques (such as point of view, suspense, plotting, character, and setting) to nonfiction writing. Norton's book also provides freelance copyeditors with a way to earn higher fees while introducing more creativity into their work lives. It gives acquisitions, marketing, and production staff a vocabulary for diagnosing a manuscript's flaws and techniques for transforming it into a bestseller. And perhaps most importantly, "Developmental Editing "equips authors with the concrete tools they need to reach their audiences.
ISBN: 1282239856Publication Date: 2009-08-21
Recommended Academic Journals
Recommended Academic Journal Articles
- "Technical Editing and Women Scientists Were Made for Each Other": Ethaline H. Cortelyou's Career Advice to Women in the Sciences. Chemist Ethaline Cortelyou, a significant figure in the emerging profession of technical communication in the 1950s, became a national mentor to women in the sciences, first leading them into the practice of technical editing and then away from it. This article presents a case study of her awakening to the true nature and cost of the patriarchal workplace and her own complicity in actively supporting sexist assumptions and the status quo. During the Sputnik crisis, Cortelyou recognized and overcame her internalized sexism, revised her advice to young women in the sciences, and became a public advocate of workplace reform.
- Editing by the Book: Lessons From Technical Editing Texts. Medical editors are not necessarily familiar with the conventions of technical editing in the physical sciences and engineering. The 2 traditions developed separately, and most medical editors learn their craft on the job, not through academic programs that might draw on a technical editing curriculum. Accordingly, to see what the technical editing literature could add to medical editing, I reviewed 31 books on the topic. These books were published between 1958 and 2019, 23 are more than 20 years old, and most were written for students in technical writing degree programs preparing for jobs in industry. Collectively, these books use 77 terms for different forms of editing, most of which can be classified as those related to editing content (what is said), presentation (how it is said), correctness (how properly it is said), or formatting (what it looks like). Other terms classify editing by the "level of edit," by "degree of effort," by stage in the publication process, or by requested turn-around time. Here, I review several points of interest from these books and propose 23 principles of editing for medical editors that address issues such as the goals of editing, whether to preserve the authors' "voice" or "style," editing procedures, common editing pitfalls, and professional advice. I close with a look at the range of opinions authors have held about editors, including the fact that, contrary to popular belief, most authors appreciate skilled, comprehensive
- Ethical challenges regarding artificial intelligence in medicine from the perspective of scientific editing and peer review Description This review article aims to highlight several areas in research studies on artificial intelligence (AI) in medicine that currently require additional transparency and explain why additional transparency is needed. Transparency regarding training data, test data and results, interpretation of study results, and the sharing of algorithms and data are major areas for guaranteeing ethical standards in AI research. For transparency in training data, clarifying the biases and errors in training data and the AI algorithms based on these training data prior to their implementation is critical. Furthermore, biases about institutions and socioeconomic groups should be considered. For transparency in test data and test results, authors should state if the test data were collected externally or internally and prospectively or retrospectively at first. It is necessary to distinguish whether datasets were convenience samples consisting of some positive and some negative cases or clinical cohorts. When datasets from multiple institutions were used, authors should report results from each individual institution. Full publication of the results of AI research is also important. For transparency in interpreting study results, authors should interpret the results explicitly and avoid over-interpretation. For transparency by sharing algorithms and data, sharing is required for replication and reproducibility of the research by other researchers. All of the above mentioned high standards regarding transparency of AI research in healthcare should be considered to facilitate the ethical conduct of AI research.
- The evolution of technical editing: An introduction he selection of texts on the subject of technical editing is relatively poor, considering the number of people working as technical editors. There has been some focus on new topics in professional communication, and technical editing is rapidly evolving, with the advent of hypertext, intranets and multimedia. Computers have influenced many of the changes in technical editing, and the changing roles for editors.
- Masters, Slaves, and Infant Mortality: Language Challenges for Technical Editing. Explores how some contemporary language usage presents challenges for technical editing and how awareness of language theory can help students expand their context for (and critically assess) current editing textbook advice on language choice. Discusses what editors and teachers of editing can do to help produce technical documents that address all readers
- Preparing Future Technical Editors for an Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Workplace Abstract How should instructors adapt technical editing courses to account for generative artificial intelligence (AI)? This article addresses what generative AI means for technical editing pedagogy. While AI tools may be able to address rote editing tasks, expert editors are still needed to provide accessible, ethical, and justice-oriented edits. After reviewing impacts of generative AI on editing praxis, the author focuses on the microcredentials that she built into an editing course in order to address these impacts pedagogically. The goal was to enable students to understand AI, argue for their expertise, and edit from ethical and social justice perspectives.
- Technical editing in transition: editors wanted for intranet site development Because of the changing nature of today's corporations and their distributive information systems, editors are in the right place and time to influence the development and management of Web based publishing systems within their companies. Technical editors possess unique skills that could be adapted for editing and administering intranets-company wide information publishing systems relying on Internet technology. The article encourages editors to take an active role in developing intranet systems at their companies and suggests strategies for doing so. Editors will benefit from the discussion of the importance of intranet "publishing" in today's changing business climate.
- Substantive Editing as a Form of Plagiarism among Postgraduate Students in Australia In university plagiarism policies, and in the research into plagiarism, one form of collusion remains virtually unacknowledged: substantive editing performed by editors. While almost all Australian universities allow postgraduate students to have their thesis professionally edited, "substantive" editing is prohibited. This article discusses the problems inherent in this arrangement, given that most students and supervisors, and some editors, are not clear on where the line is between the two. Moreover, it is evident that there are a myriad of social and economic pressures that lead to substantive editing being performed even when all three parties are aware that it is occurring. Substantive editing is a particularly insidious form of plagiarism since it has received so little attention by universities, it is seen as less serious than other forms of plagiarism, it requires high levels of vigilance to detect and there are no deterrents in place. This article argues that there are significant numbers of students engaging in this form of plagiarism. This study aims to shed light on this issue by examining the nature, motivations behind and prevalence of substantive editing, while recognising the social context and negative effects of the issue.
The Associated Press Stylebook by
Master the style guidelines of news writing, editing, and common usage with this indispensable guide perfect for students and professional writers everywhere. The style of The Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With the AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which their writers and editors are famous. The AP Stylebook will help you master the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, word and numeral usage, and when to use "more than" instead of "over." To make navigating these specialty chapters even easier, the Stylebook includes a comprehensive index. Fully revised and updated to keep pace with world events, common usage, and AP procedures, The AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors and students cannot afford to be without.
ISBN: 9781541647572Publication Date: 2020-06-23
AMA Manual of Style by
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.
ISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020-03-02
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowHistorical dictionary, english, definitions, etymology (more...).
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBusiness and management articles (more...).
O*Net & Occupational Outreach Handbook
Using O*NET and the Occupational Outlook Handbook in Your Technical Writing Course
As you navigate your technical and professional writing course, O*NET and the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) are two essential resources that can enhance both your understanding of the field and your coursework.- O*NET: This tool provides detailed information about various occupations, including technical writing. You can explore job descriptions, required skills, and educational qualifications specific to technical writing roles, such as Technical Communicator or Documentation Specialist. In your assignments, you might reference ONET to support your understanding of the skills you need to develop or to inform your writing about specific job roles. For instance, when creating a resume or cover letter, you can tailor your content based on the competencies highlighted in ONET.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH): The OOH offers insights into job prospects, salary ranges, and industry trends for technical writers and related professions. You can use this resource in class discussions or projects to analyze the job market and identify potential career paths. For example, when working on a research paper or presentation about the future of technical writing, the OOH can provide valuable data and context about employment trends and what employers are seeking.