Find Primary Sources Using Newspapers - HIST 3030 - Women in the Civil War Era - Library Guides at Georgia Southern University

Historical Newspaper Collections

Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.

Freedom's Journal
All 103 issues available as full-text PDFs. The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, Freedom's Journal provided international, national, and regional information on current events and contained editorials declaiming slavery, lynching, and other injustices.

Georgia Historic Newspapers
A project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia's Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use.
Augusta Chronicle Archive
Provides information about titles and full text collected in the Augusta Chronicle Archive.
Bulloch County Newspapers
Provides information about titles and full text collected in the Bulloch County Newspapers collection.
George - Anne
Find print and electronic full text of the George-Anne in the library collection and online.
Mercer Cluster Archive
Provides information about titles and full text collected in the Mercer Cluster Archive.
Savannah Morning News
On microfilm, 1900-2016

The New York Times Article Archive
Partial and full-text digital versions of articles from 1851 to 2006.

TimesMachine
A browser-based digital replica of all issues from 1851 to 2002 available to print and digital subscribers.

Create or Renew your Personal New York Times Online account:

Make sure you are not already logged into NYTimes.com.
Go to Georgia Southern's New York Times sign-in page.
If not immediately re-directed after logging in, click here to claim your NYTimes.com Pass.
Create a NYTimes.com account using your institutional email – or use your pre-existing profile