HIST 3531 - History of Africa since 1800: Find Articles
Scholarly v. Non-Scholary
Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in academic journals, collections of essays or anthologies.
Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.
Try DISCOVER
DISCOVER articles, books, media and more…
Try Other Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles, some peer-reviewed, world history (more...).
- JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new windowArticles, most peer-reviewed; Artstor images (more...).
- Middle East & Africa Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text academic journals published by scholarly organizations in the Middle East and Africa (more...).
- Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals, trade journals, reports and newspapers (more...).
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowArticles, all topics, peer-reviewed (more...).
Looking for more? Try the A-Z Database List.
What does an article look like?
O’Sullivan, Christopher. “The United Nations, Decolonization and Self-Determination in Cold War: Sub- Saharan Africa, 1960-64.” Journal of Third World Studies 22, no. 2 (September 22, 2005): 104.
Can't find the full-text?
ILLiad is the system used to manage Interlibrary loan requests.
New Georgia Southern users must create an ILLiad account. Once you have an account, use ILLIad to:
- submit new requests
- track status of requests
- view electronically received articles
- submit requests for renewals