HIST 3530 - History of Africa to 1800: Gathering Background Information
This guide contains library and web-based information to assist students enrolled in HIST 3530: History of Africa to 1800.
History Reference Databases
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowThe database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
Credo Concept Map
Credo's Mind Map feature provides a visual representation of your results with your search term(s) at or near the center and related hyperlinked terms radiating out.
Gather Background Info with Reference Resources
Most reference resources are considered "tertiary" source materials. These books and websites provide background information and an overview and analysis of a subject or concept.
Tertiary sources have been compiled from secondary sources. Unlike a secondary source book or journal article, tertiary sources are not intended to be read in their entirety. Instead, they are most often used to clarify terms and concepts about a particular topic. Tertiary sources include:
- Almanacs, Yearbooks, and Factbooks
- Bibliographies*
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias*
- Indexes and Abstracts
- Manuals
- Textbooks*
Overviews of Africa during this period
General History of AfricaCall Number: Main Stacks, 2nd floor ; DT20 .G45Publication Date: 1981Multi-volume work by UNESCO
vol II Ancient Civilizations
vol III African from the seventh to the eleventh century
vol IV Africa from the twelfth to the sixteenth century
vol V Africa from the sixteenth to the eighteenth century
