Skip to Main Content

HIST 3538 - Modern Latin America: Find News & Newspapers

This guide provides library and web-based information appropriate for students enrolled in HIST 3538: Modern Latin America.

Newspaper Databases

  • International Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format.
  • News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
    Definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
     
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    Provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.

 

The New York Times

The New York Times Article Archive
Partial and full-text digital versions of articles from 1851 to 2006.

TimesMachine
A browser-based digital replica of all issues from 1851 to 2002 available to print and digital subscribers.

Create or Renew your Personal New York Times Online account:

  1. Make sure you are not already logged into NYTimes.com.

  2. Go to Georgia Southern's New York Times sign-in page.

  3. If not immediately re-directed after logging in, click here to claim your NYTimes.com Pass.

  4. Create a NYTimes.com account using your institutional email – or use your pre-existing profile

Looking for a specific newspaper?

  1. Type the title of the journal you are looking for into the search box on the homepage.
     
  2. Be sure to select the Journal Title List from the options below the search box. 
     
  3. Scroll through the results page until you locate the correct title. 

    Electronic Titles will be designated by an "Online Access" hyperlink. Select this link. A pop-up box will appear identifying Full-Text Options. Select a database link from the list that corresponds with the desired issue date. 
    Hint: You can also filter results to electronic holdings by selecting "Full Access Online" from the filters on the right nav menu. 

    Print Titles will be designated by a physical location in Zach S. Henderson Library or Lane Library. 
    Hint: You can also filter results to physical holdings by selecting "Available in the Library" from the filters on the right nav menu. 

Still Cannot find?
Contact your liaison librarian for help or submit an ILL request!

Subjects: History