Painting and Studio Art Resources : Find Articles
This guide provides library and web-based information appropriate for students enrolled in painting and studio art courses
Recommended Resources for Online and Print Art Magazines
-
Art Almanac Art Almanac is Australia's gallery guide - a monthly briefing on national art news, reviews and exhibitions. Since 1974, Art Almanac has proudly published the most comprehensive gallery exhibition listings in the country.
-
Art Journaling In each 144-page issue of Art journaling, artists open their journals and share creative techniques for capturing their emotions. From stamping and collage art to painting and sketching, each journal is filled with innovative techniques that you'll want to try in your own art journal. Detailed photos and commentary will help you discover your journaling style, with hints and tricks for creating a stand-out page.
-
Artlink Artlink is a quarterly themed magazine covering contemporary art and ideas from the Asia-Pacific.
-
ARTnews ARTnews reports on the art, personalities, issues, trends and events shaping the international art world. Written in clear, well-crafted language that is as comprehensible to the novice as it is to the expert, the magazine offers a lively, provocative, and visually stimulating package that informs as well as entertains with news dispatches from a worldwide network of correspondents, hard-hitting investigative reports, criticism and opinion.
-
Art Newspaper The Art Newspaper is the journal of record for the visual arts world, covering international news and events.
-
Esse Arts + Opinions Esse magazine focuses on contemporary art and multidisciplinary practices. It offers in-depth analyses of current art works and artistic and social issues by publishing essays that deal with art and its interconnections within various contexts. Each issue proposes a themed section, artists portfolios, articles on international cultural projects as well as reviews of exhibitions, events and publications.
DISCOVER articles, books, media and more…
Need "Scholarly Journal" Articles instead?
Often an assignment will call for Journal Articles, or your professor will state, "I want to see some scholarly/peer-reviewed articles in your bibliography." Journals, in particular Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals, are where you can find published scholarly research. You can find Journal Articles by searching using the DISCOVER search box (top) or one of the Library's Databases (right).
Be sure you check the Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journals box to limit your results to the appropriate resources. Check the Full-Text box to limit your results to available items
-
Journal of Contemporary Art The journal of contemporary art has featured conversations with and projects by a diverse international group of emerging and established artists such as Marina Abramović, Arakawa, Judith Barry, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Larry Clark, Maureen Connor, General Idea, Gilbert and George, Antony Gormley, Dan Graham, Renée Green, Jeff Koons, Jonathan Lasker, Wolfgang Laib, Imi Knoebel, Zoe Leonard, Sherrie Levine, Christian Marclay, Tim Maul, Rita McBride, Annette Messager, Mariko Mori, Mark Morrisroe, Takashi Murakami, Cady Noland, Adrian Piper, Mimmo Rotella, Sean Scully, Richard Serra, Cindy Sherman, Kiki Smith, Bill Viola, and many others. The journal was originally founded in 1988 by two artists, Philip Pocock and John Zinsser. They were joined by two critics, Jonathan Seliger and Klaus Ottmann, who served as contributing editors. In 1991 Klaus Ottmann became the publisher and editor of the journal. In 1995, the journal ceased to be a printed publication and became an online archive.
Search Library Databases
-
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals, selected trade, and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies (more...).
-
JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new windowArticles, most peer-reviewed; Artstor images (more...).
Complete list of Art-related Databases.
New York Times
Sign up for unlimited access to the New York Times, courtesy of Georgia Southern Libraries.
-
New York Times, Arts SectionAfter you set up your GSU access to the NYT, check out the Arts Section!