Skip to Main Content

OpenAthens @ Georgia Southern

Merging MyEBSCOhost Accounts


In coordination with GALILEO, the University Libraries are improving how you log into Georgia Southern’s EBSCO databases using the OpenAthens identity management system. Beginning October 15, 2019, when you access Discover @ Georgia Southern or any of the Libraries’ EBSCO databases, a new MyEBSCOhost account will automatically be created for you, which you can use to save articles and searches and to check out EBSCO ebooks.

If you maintained one or more MyEBSCOhost accounts prior to October 15, 2019, then you have the option to merge your existing accounts with your new account. This guide walks you through the steps to merge your accounts, making any content you previously saved available to you in your new account.

Beginning October 15, 2019, if you prefer not to merge your accounts, you can still access them by clicking Switch Accounts in the top-right menu of any EBSCO database; however, you will not be able to save any new content to your previous accounts.
 

If you prefer not to merge your accounts, you can still access them by clicking "Switch Accounts" in the menu of any EBSCO database. 
 

Please Note:

  • The option to merge your MyEBSCOhost accounts becomes available only after October 15, 2019.
  • In order to merge accounts, you must first return all borrowed ebooks from your existing accounts. To do this after October 15, 2019, click Switch Accounts in the top-right menu of any EBSCO database to access your existing accounts and return any ebooks you’ve checked out.
  • Once you complete the account merge process, your previous MyEBSCOhost account will be deleted. If the contents of your previous account are especially large or valuable to you, be sure to export them prior to merging accounts. The University Libraries will not be able to recover the contents of your previous account after it has been merged to the new account.

 

Steps to Merge Your MyEBSCOhost Account

  1. Beginning October 15, 2019, the first time you search Discover @ Georgia Southern or any of the Libraries’ EBSCO databases, you will be prompted to agree to EBSCO’s “Personal Data Retention and Usage” statement. Click either Yes or No according to your preference, then click Continue. For more about this statement, see here.

Currently, the option to select "No" is unavailable when using Discover@Georgia Southern and will result in your being unable to create or merge accounts. This is a known issue which EBSCO is working to fix. For the Libraries' EBSCOhost databases, if you prefer not to select "Yes," you will be asked to review EBSCO's “Personal Data Retention and Usage” statement each time you start a news session.

The first time you search Discover @ Georgia Southern or any of the Libraries' EBSCO databases, you will be prompted to agree to EBSCO's Personal Data Retention and Usage Statement. Click either the Yes or No Option. Option "Yes. I consent to the collection of this personalized data, and I understand the processing of my personal data is covered under my institution's contract with EBSCO." Option "No. I do not consent to the collection of this personalized data." Then click "Continue".
 

  1. In the top-right of the search results page, click Update My Account.
     

Second, click "Update My Account" on the search results page.
 

  1. You will be taken to a summary of details for your new MyEBSCOhost account, including your name and email address. To start the merge process, click Get Started in the EBSCO Merge Accounts section at the bottom of the display.
     

Third, to start the merge process, click "Get Started" in the EBSCO Merge Accounts section.

 

  1. Next, click Sign in to Your Source Account and sign into your previous MyEBSCOhost account using the username and password you created when you set up the account.

    Note: These steps are for merging existing accounts only. Do not click to create a new account. If you need help recovering your username or password, please contact the University Libraries.

 

Fourth, click "Sign in to Your Source Account".

 

Next, from the login prompt, sign into your previous MyEBSCOhost account using the username and password you created when you set up the account.

 

  1. After signing in, you will be presented with a summary of the account merger. The Source account listed at the top should correspond to your previous account. The Target account will be your new account. This account should show zero items if you have not already saved items to it. Any items you have already saved to your new account will be saved after merging accounts. Once you’re ready to merge accounts, click Merge Account Data.

    Note: The source account in the image below shows zero items since this account was created only for this guide.

 

Fifth, once you're ready to merge accounts, click "Merge Account Data".

 

  1. Next, you will be asked to confirm that you’d like to start the merge process. The form will remind you that, after doing so, your previous MyEBSCOhost account will be deleted. If the contents of your previous account are especially large or valuable to you, be sure to export them prior to merging accounts. The University Libraries will not be able to recover the contents of your previous account after it has been merged to the new account. When you are ready to merge accounts, click Continue.

 

Sixth, you will be asked to confirm that you'd like to start the merge process. Click "Continue".

 

  1. You will receive a confirmation email once the merge is complete. To merge multiple accounts, click Back to Settings to repeat these steps.

 

Seventh, you will receive a confirmation email once the merge is complete. To merge multiple accounts, click "Back to Settings".

 

For Help or More Information, Ask Us!