Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
microfilm at Lane Library and selected online resources
Historic Newspapers (Proquest)
- Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1984 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper articles, backfiles, Atlanta, Georgia (more...).
Historic newspapers--major repositories, search tools
- British Newspaper ArchiveSearching free, register to get 3 free downloads of newspaper pages. After that several affordable fee options, payable by credit card.
- Afro-ArchivesPartially digitized issues from four African American newspapers of the 20th c.
- Elephind.com Search of historic newspapers, worldwideCurrently about 2,500, 000 newspapers included.
Georgia and other state repositories
- Georgia Historic NewspapersThe Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.
- Historic Newspapers of South Carolina from University of South Carolina
- North Carolina Newspapers Statewide digitization and digital publishing projects from UNC-Chapel Hill.
Local
- Savannah Tribune 1876-1960African American newspaper, part of Georgia Historic Newspapers
Historical New York Times
First create an account--Georgia Southern current students, staff and faculty are eligible to a NYT account via GS Libraries subscription:
New York Times Online: Access and Account SetUp
Click link to access New York Times Online and Set Up your own account as a Georgia Southern faculty member, staff or student. Use your Georgia Southern email to create account.
Then enter the Times Machine---search and browse the issues of the New York Times from 1852 to present, View the articles/newspapers as they were originally printed. Download a pdf of the articles found.
- Times MachineSearch and browse the newspapers from 1851 to 2002 with your login to NYT online.
Lists of Links
- Wikipedia's lIst of online newspapersIncludes both free and subscription resources
- LInks to African American NewspapersGuide to digitized African American newspapers by a librarian at Marist University, some links are to subscription sources of that University, but freely available sources are also listed.
Questions? Happy to help
Caroline Hopkinson
Contact:
Georgia Southern University Libraries--Lane Library
Savannah, GA 31419-1997 chopkinson@georgiasouthern.edu
Savannah, GA 31419-1997 chopkinson@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-3019
Georgia Southern student newspapers
- George - Anne (Quick Start Guide)Find print and electronic full text of the George-Anne in the library collection and online.
- The Inkwell via Digital Commons @ Geoprgia SouthernArchived issues from 1935 to present. Most complete collection of Inkwell issues and keyword searchable.