Library Guides: Black Heritage and the Lowcountry: The Kiah-Law Archive and Other Regional Fascinations: Collections

Featured Collections and Holdings at the City of Savannah Archives

Ayers, Mary L., World War II scrapbook

This collection details the contributions of Savannah's African American women during the second world war.

Beach Institute Historic Neighborhood Community Collection

This collection highlights the neighborhoods' African American achievements, Victorian Cottages, and more.

Cuyler-Brownville Community Collection

On the Cuyler-Brownville Community. Prompt cards with community member responses.

Eastside Neighborhood Documentation Project

Holds relevant information about the culture and environment of historic African American neighborhoods in Savannah.

Savannah State University Community Collection

On Savannah State University.

W. W. Law Photograph Collection, W. W. Law Personal Papers, and W. W. Law Collection

Materials documenting the life and legacy of W.W. Law.

Featured Exhibits and Holdings at the Ralph Mark Gilbert Civil Rights Museum

West Broad Street: Black Business Empire (Second Floor Gallery)

An ongoing exhibit conveying the history and importance of "Savannah's own Black Wall Street."

The "Meeting Room" (Second Floor, Classroom 1)

This ongoing exhibit revolves around a painting depicting the storied Field Order #15.

The "Heros and Sheros" Room (Lower Level)

This ongoing exhibit profiles leaders in Savannah's Civil Rights Movement.

The Georgia Negro

This rotating exhibit consists of the dazzling piece of the name, created by muralist Eugene A. Montgomery in 1946.

Featured Collections and Holdings of Asa H. Gordon Library at Savannah State University

Tiger Scholar Commons

A digital archive of the University's year books from 1939. There are, however, gaps due to holding and publication inconsistencies (for instance, the second World War halted publication in the mid-1940s). Currently, the library holds: Hubertonian from 1939-1947, Georgia State College Tiger in 1949, and Tiger from 1952-1994 and in 1998.

University Queens Collection

Photographs and other material documenting the University's queens, with the earliest entry being 1924.

Realia Collection

A physical collection of the University's sweatshirts, caps, buttons, pens, cups, cap & gowns, cheerleader and band uniforms.

Manuscript Collection

Like the book collection, these materials consist of writings from the faculty, staff, and alumni of Savannah State University. They relate to the university and its growth.

Audiovisual Collection

Audiovisual materials documenting University events and happenings.

Major Richard R. Wright, Sr. Collection

A collection of material relating to Major Wright, as well as his national and local contributions to African American history.

Featured Collections and Holdings at Georgia Southern University Libraries

Calvin and Virginia Jackson Kiah papers
This collection consists of the personal and professional papers of Calvin and Virginia Jackson Kiah, spanning 1871 to 1999, with a focus on 1949-1989. It includes correspondence, teaching materials, artist files, photographs, newspaper clippings, and related documents. Of particular note are records of Virginia Jackson Kiah's work founding and managing both the Kiah House Museum in Savannah, Georgia, and the Lillie Carroll Jackson Museum in Baltimore, Maryland.
Kiah House Museum student art collection
This collection consists of student artwork associated with the educational mission of the former Kiah House Museum in Savannah, Georgia. The majority of works were created from the 1940s to 1970s as part of the National Conference of Artists traveling show, an international art exchange program, in which the Kiah House Museum participated as a chapter as well as other traveling exhibitions.
Pinpoint’s Residential Oral History collection
Founded by A.S. Varn Sr., the A.S. Varn & Son Crab Factory was the primary source of income and employment in the Pinpoint community. Crabs and oysters were harvested and shipped to local markets by boat or street car. The factory also provided a sense economic independence for individuals in the community. Men were tasked with catching the crabs or oysters during the season and transporting the catch to the factory. Children and women also played a role in the crabbing process. It was the children’s task to pick the back of the crabs while the women canned and deliver them to the local markets in the city. The first set of videotape recordings were done by Dr. Barbara Fertig’s history class of 1995 to 1996. The names of the interviewers comes from listening to the tapes, but has not been confirmed from other sources.
Waddie Welcome collection
This collection consists of approximately 668 photograph slides taken by Tom Kohler and Susan Earl from 2006 to 2009. The subjects of the slides include artwork by Waddie Welcome in the Savannah area.