Georgia Southern Scholars

Georgia Southern Scholars is a public, searchable database that highlights the scholarly and creative activities of Georgia Southern University faculty. GS Scholars advances collaboration, discovery, and innovation by connecting researchers across departments and colleges, with government and industry partners, and with researchers at other institutions. Explore Georgia Southern's extensive research output, including publications and presentations, creative works, sponsored projects and grants, and more.

Elsevier Pure is the world’s leading research information management system (RIMS). Sometimes called “current research information systems” (CRIS), RIMS collect information on researchers and their affiliations as well as research projects, grants, publications, presentations, datasets, patents, academic honors, media reports, and statements of impact. In addition to hosting faculty profiles, RIMS provide robust reporting features that help researchers and institutions track and analyze research activity and impact, identify research trends and grant opportunities, focus institutional resources, and encourage research collaborations. For more information about Pure, see the Elsevier website.

All tenure-track faculty at Georgia Southern University have a scholarly profile in GS Scholars. All research-active non-tenure track faculty may request a profile if they want one. In addition, GS Scholars includes profiles for select emeriti, retired, and deceased faculty.

GS Scholars includes a variety of information about Georgia Southern faculty, including but not limited to:

• Tenure status and rank.
• Department and college information.
• Affiliations with research centers, institutes, and labs.
• Education and training.
• Brief autobiographies.
• Citation counts and metrics from Scopus.
• Research interests, disciplines, keywords, and research "fingerprints."
• Expertise related to the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
• Networking information and collaboration maps.
• Research projects and grants.
• Research outputs (e.g., publications, presentations, datasets, and patents).
• Research-related activities, memberships, prizes, and honors.
• Research-related media mentions and interviews.

Unlike the Libraries' legacy SelectedWorks profiles, GS Scholars focuses more narrowly on faculty members' scholarly and creative activities. For more information about the kinds of activities to include in GS Scholars, see the Getting Started and Managing Content pages.

The information in GS Scholars comes from many sources, including but not limited to:

• Individual faculty CVs and updates.
• Faculty reports from the Division of Academic Affairs.
• The faculty/staff directory.
• The Office of Research.
• Center and Institute directors.
• Associate deans of research.
• Scopus (citations and metrics).
• Mendeley.
• ORCiD.
• SSRN.
• PubMed.
• Web of Science.
• arxiv.org.
• SciELO.
• dblp.
• bioRxiv.
• medRxiv.
• Unpaywall.
• SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System.
• WorldCat.
• CrossRef.
• EBSCOhost.
• Digital Commons.
• IEEE Xplore.
• Espacenet.
• Data Monitor.
• Elsevier Funding Database.

GS Scholars uses application program interfaces (APIs) to connect to many of these information sources. Faculty can use these import sources to identify and import research outputs and activities into their profiles. For more information about import sources, see the Getting Started and Managing Content pages.

Information in GS Scholars is updated many ways on different timelines. Here are some highlights:

Faculty Profiles – Additions and Removals
All tenure-track faculty receive a personal scholarly profile. Additionally, all research-active non-tenure track faculty may request a profile if they want one. Non-tenure track faculty should communicate with their ADRs to make this request. Any faculty member who wishes not to be included in GS Scholars should contact their ADR.

The GS Commons Team requests updated faculty reports from the Division of Academic Affairs twice per year following the fall and spring semester add/drop periods. The GS Commons Team then forwards these reports to the ADR for each college with instructions to review and correct the reports by a given due date. The GS Commons Team then adds or removes faculty profiles from GS Scholars following the due date. ADRs may contact the GS Commons Team with updates, or they may make updates themselves after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. 

Research Outputs, Projects/Grants, and Datasets
Research outputs, projects/grants, and datasets are updated daily via available import sources, including but not limited to Scopus, Elsevier's Funding Database, and Data Monitor. Manually entered records may also be updated if the output record contains sufficient information for Scopus or another import source to "match" it (like a DOI or ISBN). Additionally, Scopus, Data Monitor, and other import sources will recommend new records to import for faculty with a Scopus ID or ORCiD. Faculty can review and accept any recommended updates when they log into GS Scholars.

Any research output, project/grant, or dataset that does not match a record in an import source will not update automatically and will need to be updated manually. In addition to all faculty, Associate Deans of Research (ADRs) may edit research outputs, projects/grants, and datasets within their colleges after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. Similarly, Office of Research personnel may edit these records for all colleges and departments after receiving training.

Research Activities, Prizes/Honors, Press/Media, and Facilities/Equipment
All research activities, prizes/honors, press/media, and facilities/equipment are entered manually, so these records need to be updated manually. In addition to all faculty, ADRs may edit these records within their colleges after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. Similarly, Office of Research personnel may edit these records for all colleges and departments after receiving training.

Citation Counts and Metrics
Citation counts and metrics are updated daily via Scopus, PlumX, and Altmetric. These data cannot be edited. Citation counts and metrics from Google Scholar, Web of Science, and other citation indexes cannot be imported or displayed in GS Scholars. For more information about the appropriate use of metrics in research and assessment, see the GS Libraries' Statement on Metrical and Impact Data Tools as well as Central Michigan University's statement on Elsevier Administrative Analysis Tools.

Research "Fingerprints"
Research "Fingerprint" information is updated daily for all personal users (i.e., faculty), research units, and research outputs via Elsevier's Fingerprint Engine. Fingerprint information may also be edited manually. Individual faculty may edit fingerprint information on their own personal user and research output records. ADRs may edit fingerprint information on all personal user, research unit, and research output records within their colleges after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. Similarly, Office of Research personnel may edit fingerprint information on all personal user, research unit, and research output records for all colleges and departments after receiving administrator training.

Research Impact Areas (RIAs)
Office of Research personnel may request the addition or removal of Research Impact Areas (RIAs) in GS Scholars. All changes to the structure of RIAs in GS Scholars are conducted by the GS Commons Team. All RIA information is added to personal users (i.e., faculty), research units, and research outputs manually. Individual faculty may add RIA information to their own personal user and research output records. ADRs may add RIA information to all personal user, research unit, and research output records within their colleges after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. Similarly, Office of Research personnel may add RIA information to all personal user, research unit, and research output records for all colleges and departments after receiving administrator training.

UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
SDG information is updated daily for all personal users (i.e., faculty), research units, and research outputs via Scopus. SDG information may also be added manually. Individual faculty may add SDG information to their own personal user and research output records. ADRs may add SDG information to all personal user, research unit, and research output records within their colleges after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. Similarly, Office of Research personnel may add SDG information to all personal user, research unit, and research output records for all colleges and departments after receiving administrator training.
 

Colleges and Departments
The GS Commons Team organizes all faculty under colleges and departments by default. The ADR for each college may request changes to this structure by contacting the GS Commons Team. Requests are considered on an individual basis and the Office of Research may be consulted. All changes to the organizational unit structure in GS Scholars are conducted by the GS Commons Team. The ADR for each college is responsible for maintaining any contact information or images used with the college or departments. ADRs may contact the GS Commons Team with updates, or they may make updates themselves after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. The GS Commons Team will contact the Office of Research and the ADRs 2-3 times per year to solicit updates. 

Research Institutes, Centers, and Labs
The GS Commons Team adds or removes research institutes, centers, and labs by request of the Office of Research or the ADR of the college to which the unit reports. Requests are considered on an individual basis and the Office of Research may be consulted. All changes to the organizational unit structure in GS Scholars are conducted by the GS Commons Team. The Office of Research or the ADR of the college to which the unit reports, is responsible for maintaining current affiliate rosters and any contact information or images used with the unit. The Office of Research or the ADRs may contact the GS Commons Team with updates, or they may make updates themselves after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. The GS Commons Team will contact the Office of Research and the ADRs 2-3 times per year to solicit updates. 

Whether you include all of your work or only your more recent work is your decision. Your profile should tell the story of your scholarship and creative activities as you see fit. If you and your colleagues decide to adopt any content guidelines or expectations, this would be decided within your department or college.

For most faculty, the publications that currently appear in your profile originated from Scopus using your Scopus ID. GS Scholars is integrated with and imports citation information from Scopus on a regular basis. As publications are added to your Scopus profile, they will be added to your GS Scholars profile. In addition to Scopus, GS Scholars supports many import sources. Learn more about configuring these sources under Set Up Automated Search on the Personal Information page of our Getting Started guide.

By default, only you and the members of the GS Commons Team can edit your profile. The GS Commons Team will only edit your profile to correct or enhance record metadata. Team members may also reach out to you with recommendations for how to improve your profile. The GS Commons Team will notify you of any profile updates that go beyond basic metadata maintenance. In addition, your Associate Dean of Research (ADR) and Office of Research personnel can edit your profile and records, but only after receiving administrator training from the GS Commons Team. 

If you are a non-tenure track faculty member and you do not want your profile to appear in GS Scholars, please notify the GS Commons Team at digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu if your profile needs to be suppressed. If you are a tenure-track faculty member and you do not want your profile to appear, please contact your Associate Dean of Research (ADR). Any requests received from tenure-track faculty to suppress their profile will be forwarded to the appropriate ADR.

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a set of 17 interconnected objectives addressing global challenges such as poverty, inequality, climate change, and sustainable development. These goals provide a comprehensive framework for countries, organizations, and individuals to work towards a more equitable, prosperous, and sustainable future by 2030.

Researchers find the SDGs invaluable as they offer a universal language and roadmap for aligning their work with global priorities. By addressing the SDGs in their research, scholars can contribute directly to solving pressing societal issues, guiding policy decisions, and fostering collaboration across disciplines and sectors. Furthermore, the SDGs provide researchers with a basis for measuring and assessing the impact of their work, facilitating accountability and evaluation of research outcomes. Overall, the SDGs serve as a catalyst for meaningful research that promotes positive social, economic, and environmental change on a global scale.

GS Scholars includes SDG information imported from Scopus and added manually by faculty, Associate Deans of Research (ADRs), and the Office of Research. Learn more about configuring SDGs on your profile under Disciplines, Keywords, Research Interests, and SDGs on the Personal Information page. Also, learn how to add and remove SDGs from your works on the Adding Content page.

The Elsevier Fingerprint Engine is a powerful tool used in academic research to analyze and categorize scholarly content based on its textual content. Research "fingerprints" generated by the Engine are concise representations of the main concepts, topics, and themes within a document. These fingerprints are created using natural language processing and machine learning algorithms, which extract key terms and phrases from the text to capture its core ideas and subjects.

By generating fingerprints, the Fingerprint Engine enables efficient content discovery, recommendation, and navigation within large databases of scholarly literature. In Elsevier Pure, these fingerprints enrich metadata associated with research outputs, enhancing their discoverability and accessibility. By incorporating fingerprints into Pure, researchers can efficiently explore and showcase their scholarly contributions while facilitating collaboration and knowledge dissemination within the academic community.

GS Scholars includes fingerprint information imported from Scopus and edited by faculty, Associate Deans of Research (ADRs), and the Office of Research.

The h-index is a metric used to quantify the productivity and impact of a researcher's work. It's calculated by examining both the number of publications a researcher has produced and the number of times those publications have been cited by other researchers. The h-index aims to balance the quantity and quality of research output by identifying the point at which a researcher has published h papers that have each been cited at least h times. For example, an h-index of 10 means the researcher has published at least 10 papers, each of which has been cited at least 10 times. This metric provides a standardized measure to compare researchers' academic achievements and helps evaluate their influence within their field. 

For all faculty with a Scopus Author ID, GS Scholars includes the citation count and h-index for their works from Scopus. These data cannot be edited. Citation counts and metrics from Google Scholar, Web of Science, and other citation indexes cannot be imported or displayed in GS Scholars. For more information about the appropriate use of metrics in research and assessment, see the GS Libraries' Statement on Metrical and Impact Data Tools as well as Central Michigan University's statement on Elsevier Administrative Analysis Tools.

Scopus is an extensive abstract and citation database covering a wide range of scientific disciplines. It includes peer-reviewed literature from journals, conference proceedings, and patents. Scopus provides researchers, academics, and institutions with access to a vast collection of scholarly literature, allowing them to search, track, and analyze research outputs. It offers advanced search capabilities, citation analysis tools, and metrics like the h-index to evaluate individual researchers or institutions' impact and productivity.

SciVal is a research performance analysis tool developed by Elsevier, leveraging data from Scopus. It helps researchers and institutions assess their research performance, benchmark against peers, identify collaboration opportunities, and track trends in research output and impact. SciVal offers visualizations, customizable reports, and metrics tailored to specific research domains, aiding strategic decision-making and resource allocation in academia and research institutions. Together, Scopus and SciVal empower the research community with comprehensive data-driven insights to advance scientific knowledge and innovation.

For more information, see the Scopus & SciVal page.