HIST 3030 - History of Mexico: View the Latin America + Collection
This guide provides library and web-based information appropriate for students enrolled in HIST 3030: History of Mexico
About Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collection
The Zach S. Henderson Library’s Special Collections Department was founded in the 1970s. Housed within the department are rare books, manuscript collections, and artifacts relating to the history of the Statesboro region and Georgia Southern University.
Examples of Special Collections LibGuides
Examples of Georgia Southern Commons Collections
- Manuscripts and Early Printing Book collection The Manuscripts and Early Printed Book collection at Zach S. Henderson Library includes Georgia Southern University's oldest and most rare materials. Broad in scope, it includes works in many subject areas including classical literature, religious texts, and language. While materials are not able to be checked out due to their unique status, researchers are welcome to view and read the books by appointment in the Special Collections Reading Room. The materials highlighted here represent the oldest materials housed in the collection. They were digitized and described by undergraduate researchers in the Digital Humanities program under the supervision of Dr. Robert K. Batchelor, Professor of History, and Autumn Johnson, Special Collections Librarian.
- Francis Harper photographs Photographs depicting Okefenokee plantlife and culture taken by Cornell-trained naturalist Francis Harper from 1912-1951. The photographs were used in Okefinokee Album (sic) co-authored by Francis Harper and Delma E. Presley and published by the University of Georgia Press in 1981.
- Peace Officers Association of Georgia newsletters The Georgia Peace Officer is the official publication for the Peace Officer Association of Georgia. The first newsletter was published in 1949, with volume two picking up in 1952. Issues were initially published bi-monthly but later shifted to quarterly. Regular communications include a message from the association president, the chaplain’s corner, treasury reports, convention proceedings, business directories, officer of the year recipients, and crime trending. It is still in print today and continues to be a valuable resource for law enforcement officials of all branches and fields. Digitized volumes ofThe Georgia Peace Officer, from 1949, are available for download here.
- Ogeechee Riverkeeper oral histories Ogeechee Riverkeeper Oral Histories were funded by Ogeechee Riverkeeper beginning in 2016. It is a public oral history project designed to document and create collaborative initiatives to share the history and lived experiences of the people who live along and use the Ogeechee River in Georgia in the past and present. Documentation is in various forms, such as audio recordings, photographs, and artifacts. During oral history interviews, interviewees were asked to share personal experiences and perceptions regarding their land, their home, the Ogeechee River, its creeks, streams, and drainage areas, their kinship and land-use relationships, history of their family along with the Ogeechee River and in the region, everyday experiences of life along the Ogeechee, and anything else that was important about their connection to the Ogeechee River and surrounding areas.
About the Latin America & Caribbean collection
The Latin American & Caribbean collection, assembled by Dr. Corinna Zeltsman of Georgia Southern University in Summer 2021, consists of items from Latin America and the Caribbean dating from 1692 to 1985. Materials include political pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera, sheet music, published books, and other materials. The subject matter includes U.S.-Latin American relations, popular culture, and revolutions.
The collection was partially supported by a Georgia Southern University Faculty Development Grant.
- Latin America & Caribbean Collection Finding Aid This collection contains finding aids and container lists for materials in the Zach S. Henderson Library Special Collections. A Finding Aid contains a listing of the collection's contents and their location within Special Collections. It will often describe and summarize the contents of a collection including aspects of its arrangement; the scope of its subject matter; organizations and persons of relevancy; and its chronology.
- Latin America & Caribbean Collection Catalog Record (GIL-Find) Most Special Collections items (including books, maps, ephemera, photographs, and manuscript collections) are described in the Library Catalog. The catalog provides summary descriptions of holdings, many of which are more fully described in separate finding aids.
