Indigenous Peoples of Georgia and the Southeast: Library Resources
If you have questions about any of the resources in this guide, or doing library research, please don't hesitate to contact one of our Liaison Librarians at: https://georgiasouthern.libguides.com/liaisons (Ruth Baker is the Liaison Librarian for Anthropology).
Selected Books in the Library
-
An indigenous peoples' history of the United States
by
Call Number: Online Access (GS login required)ISBN: 0807000418Publication Date: 2014 -
The Cherokee Diaspora
by
The Cherokee are one of the largest Native American tribes in the United States, with more than three hundred thousand people across the country claiming tribal membership and nearly one million people internationally professing to have at least one Cherokee Indian ancestor. In this revealing history of Cherokee migration and resettlement, Gregory Smithers uncovers the origins of the Cherokee diaspora and explores how communities and individuals have negotiated their Cherokee identities, even when geographically removed from the Cherokee Nation headquartered in Tahlequah, Oklahoma. Beginning in the eighteenth century, the author transports the reader back in time to tell the poignant story of the Cherokee people migrating throughout North America, including their forced exile along the infamous Trail of Tears (1838-39). Smithers tells a remarkable story of courage, cultural innovation, and resilience, exploring the importance of migration and removal, land and tradition, culture and language in defining what it has meant to be Cherokee for a widely scattered people.]]>
Call Number: E99.C5 S6425 2015ISBN: 9780300169607Publication Date: 2015-09-29 -
Native Peoples of the Southeast
by
The American Southeast stretches from the Atlantic Ocean to the Gulf of Mexico, including the states of Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, and Alabama as well as parts of Virginia and Maryland. But before that region was divided into states, native groups lived there. From how they found food to what their spiritual beliefs were, the book's main content presents the traditional lifestyles of the Seminole, Choctaw, and Creek peoples, and the other groups that lived in the southeast. Readers learn even more from fun fact boxes and the historical images and full-color photographs that show what native peoples' lives were like, both before and after European colonization.
Call Number: Online Access (GS login required)ISBN: 9781482449594Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Visit the Office of Inclusive Excellence Library
Online Databases
Search tips: in addition to terms like Indigenous Peoples Native American, American Indian, and First Nations, you can search for the names of individual tribes or nations such as Creek, Muscogee or Cherokee.
Use this specialty search box to find books, and articles from Anthropology-related publications on Indigenous Peoples:
DISCOVER — Anthropology Search
Key Databases for Anthropology (a login is required for off-campus access) (also on the A-Z Databases list)
To access the A-Z Databases list, visit the Libraries' homepage at: https://georgiasouthern.edu/library and browse by subject
New Georgia Encyclopedia
-
New Georgia Encyclopediaedited by NAS faculty member John Inscoe (and with the participation of other NAS faculty), provides an authoritative source of information about the people, places, events, institutions, and many other topics related to the state.
Digital Library of Georgia (also on A-Z Databases List)
Digital Library of Georgia
- The Digital Library of Georgia contains manuscripts, photographs, governmental records, and other documents. Among its resources on Native Americans are fully searchable, digitized issues of the Cherokee Phoenix.
- http://dlg.galileo.usg.edu
Southeastern Native American Documents Collection
- Located within the Digital Library of Georgia, Southeastern Native American Documents is a collection of 2000 documents and images relating to the Native peoples of what is today the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville library, the Frank McClurg Museum, the Tennessee State Museum, and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian.
If you have questions about any of the resources in this guide, or doing library research, please don't hesitate to contact one of our Liaison Librarians at: https://georgiasouthern.libguides.com/liaisons (Ruth Baker is the Liaison Librarian for Anthropology).