Presidents' Day: Presidential Media
Video Libraries
- White House Youtube ChannelThe official Youtube channel for the White House and the Office of President
- The American Presidency ProjectThe video archive for one of the largest sources of American Presidential documents on the internet. UC Santa Monica's American President Project hosts videos with a particular document.
- C-SPAN Video LibraryAs the leading provider of televised governmental proceedings of the United States, C-SPAN's Executive Branch video library shows updates from the newest administration and some from those of the past.
- Moving Image Research CenterToday the Library of Congress's Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division (MBRS) is responsible for the acquisition, cataloging, and preservation of the Library's motion picture and television collections. The Moving Image Research Center provides access and information services to an international community of film and television professionals, archivists, scholars, and researchers.
- United States Government FilmsThe Internet Archive has gathered United States government films, including footage of Congressional proceedings, training films, etc. Includes collections: Fedflix, Metavid, and Report to the Congress: Congressional Hearings Online.
Press Briefings
Because of the frequency of updates this media experiences, we cannot display the most recent video for risk of providing outdated information.
Every day, the White House televises a daily press briefing hosted by the White House Press Secretary to inform the public and the general media of actions and events from the current president's administration and from around the world. The information includes items such as a summary of the president's schedule for the day, whom the president has seen or had communication with, and the official position of the administration on the news of the day. The current Press Secretary is Jen Psaki.
C-SPAN posts press briefings almost every day and have a large archive dedicated to recent and old press briefings. The White House itself also hosts live streams of press briefings on a daily basis. Other press briefing archives include transcripts on the White House website and in the PBS NewsHour archive.
Presidential Inaugurations
Featured above is President Joe Biden's Inaugural Ceremony dated January 20, 2021.
C-SPAN provides access to a wide range of historical media related to current and past Inauguration ceremonies. Their video tag houses commentaries, analyses, and even the addresses themselves where available. The American Presidency Project houses transcripts of the Inaugural addresses dating all the way back to George Washington.
Video Databases
The databases below provide a varied collection of videos ranging from press coverage to films to aid in your research. They're free to access on and off campus for all Georgia Southern students, faculty, and staff.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowVideos: Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, and Health (more...).
State of the Union Addresses
Featured above is the most recent State of the Union Address from former president Donald Trump dated February 4, 2020. Biden has not made a State of the Union Address yet.
C-SPAN provides an archive of televised State of the Union addresses made by current and past presidents with some reenactments of our classic presidents. Click to scroll through C-SPAN's State of the Union tag for the addresses themselves and related videos. The American Presidency Project also provides a massive resource for research with its State of the Union page.
Library Media
The Presidents: The Lives and Legacies of the 43 Leaders of the United States by ISBN: 9780767077590Publication Date: 2005
Mandate: The President and the People by Publication Date: 2006
