Artstor Digital Library: Classical Studies
This page highlights Artstor content related to the ancient Mediterranean world as illustrated by images of architecture, architectural decoration, sculpture, vases, mosaics, jewelry, metalwork, and an array of subjects and themes depicted within the classical tradition
Featured Collections
Artstor’s classical studies content is sourced from museums, archives, photo agencies, and scholars such as:
- Classical Antiquity Lantern Slide Collection (Bryn Mawr College)
- Berlin State Museums
- Dura-Europos and Gerasa Archives (Yale University)
- Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Arts Archive
- Virtual Reality Panoramas of World Architecture (Columbia University)
- Canyonlights World Art Image Bank: Art, Archaeology, Architecture
- Sites and Photos
Curated Image Groups
Artstor's Education and Content teams curate groups of images in a number of disciplines. The below image groups are available for classical studies:
- Overview: Classical Studies
- Ancient Art: Aegean and Greek City States
- Green, Etruscan, and Roman Sculpture
- Greek Architecture
- Etruscan and Roman Art
- Ancient Mediterranean: An Overview
You can save these groups as your own and modify them by opening a group, logging in to your registered Artstor account, selecting "Organize" from the top menu, and then "Save image group as..." To add or remove images, open your copy of the group and begin editing.
Did you know?
Artstor shares visual documentation of archaeological excavations undertaken at ancient sites, such as the Dura-Europos and Gerasa Archives from Yale University or the Mellink Archive of Near Eastern Archaeology from Bryn Mawr College. Columbia University has shared more than 1,800 360-degree virtual reality panoramas, which allow scholars and students to actively explore architectural monuments online. These panorama files include important sites from the ancient world, such as Selinunte, Siracusa, and Taormina in Sicily, as well as several structures throughout Rome (Colosseum, Domus Aurea, Roman Forum, Pantheon, Baths of Caracalla, Basilica of Maxentius and Constantine, and Basilica of Santa Sabina).
Explore classical studies on the Artstor blog
Attributed to the Leningrad Painter. Column-krater. ca. 475-465 B.C. The Metropolitan Museum of Art.Search Tips
Browse by museums with encyclopedic collections (e.g. The Metropolitan Museum of Art or The Cleveland Museum of Art) and sort your results by date--or use the date filter to specify specific time periods.
Keyword search for the names of Greek and Roman mythological figures to find artistic depictions from Ancient through contemporary times (e.g. Aphrodite OR Venus, Aries OR Mars, Artemis OR Diana, Athena OR Minerva, Herakles OR Hercules, Hermes OR Mercury, Poseidon OR Neptune, Zeus OR Jupiter).
Suggested Search Terms
Try these sample search terms to find images related to classical studies. Don't forget to use the search filters to narrow your results.