Skip to main content

Online Library Support

Library Services and resources available to faculty, staff and students during the COVID-19 Pandemic...and beyond

Currently, a number of publishers are offering temporary free or enhanced access to online library resources. The University Libraries are committed to supporting these resources as we become aware of them and as faculty request them. Below is a complete list of free or enhanced resources currently supported by the University Libraries, including descriptions of what is provided, tools for access, and information about when we anticipate access will end. Some of these resources are included on the Libraries' A-Z Database List as trials.

Faculty should also consult the University Libraries' No Cost Low Cost Options for Courses guide for an extensive list of permanently available Open Educational Resources (OER) as well as tools for integrating online resources into your classes.

If you become aware of any offer for free or enhanced access to online resources and would like the University Libraries to consider supporting it, please contact your liaison librarian or forward the information to acquire@georgiasouthern.edu.

Ancestry

Through an agreement with GALILEO and ProQuest, Ancestry Library Edition is now permanently available on-campus and off-campus.

Access Ancestry Library Edition here:

Annual Reviews (expired)

Annual Reviews provided free access to all of their journals and volumes through April 30, 2020. Annual Reviews publishes 46 review series in specific disciplines in science and social science. Each review series contains 12 to 40 authoritative comprehensive review articles covering the major journal articles on a specific topic during the preceding few years.

ASTM Standards in Building Codes (at MADCAD.com) (expired)

ASTM Standards in Building Codes (at MADCAD.com) provided free access to the following building codes through about April 25th:

  • 2018 Guidelines for Design and Construction of Hospitals
  • 2018 Guidelines for Design and Construction of Outpatient Facilities
  • 2018 Guidelines for Design and Construction of Residential Health, Care, and Support Facilities  

Brill

Brill is providing free access to select books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research. New related content will be added to the Brill COVID-19 Collection as it is published. Brill has not announced an end-date for access.

Access the Brill COVD-19 Collection here:

Duke University Press

Duke University Press is offering free access to all 20th-century volumes of Hispanic American Historical Review (HAHR). HAHR pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in the field. HAHR's comprehensive book review section provides commentary, ranging from brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture. 

Access HAHR here:

EBSCO

Academic Search Ultimate (expired)

EBSCO upgraded the Libraries' Academic Search Complete subscription to Academic Search Ultimate through June 29, 2020. Academic Search Ultimate provides expanded access to full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

 

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate (expired)

EBSCO provided free access to Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate through June 29, 2020. Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate provides STEM students and researchers with the resources they need to succeed. Providing coverage of a wide range of topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies, this comprehensive database is essential for STEM programs.

 

Business Source Ultimate (expired)

EBSCO upgraded the Libraries' Business Source Complete subscription to Business Source Ultimate through June 29, 2020. Business Source Ultimate provides expanded access to full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

 

Faculty Select

EBSCO is providing a simplified version Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers. Faculty Select includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.

Access Faculty Select here:

 

Flipster (expired)

EBSCO provided free access to all Flipster magazine titles through May 31, 2020. Flipster allows you to view popular magazines in print format online. Flipster is compatible with web browsers and mobile devices, and allows readers to flip through pages that look identical to the print copy.

 

Harvard Business Review eBooks (expired)

EBSCO provided free unlimited access to the Harvard Business Review eBook Collection until May 30, 2020. This ground-breaking collection contains the complete catalog of Harvard Business Review ebooks.  With over 600 ebooks that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, seminal works, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series, faculty are able to quickly provide relevant digital materials for their students.

 

Humanities Source Ultimate (expired)

EBSCO is providing free access to Humanities Source Ultimate through June 29, 2020. Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.

 

MasterFILE Complete (expired)

EBSCO is upgrading the Libraries' MasterFILE Elite subscription to MasterFILE Complete through June 29, 2020. MasterFILE Complete provides expanded access to full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

IEEE

IEEE is providing free access to articles and standards from the IEEE Xplore digital library that may help researchers understand and manage different aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic and technologies that can be leveraged to combat it.

Access these resources here: 

Internet Archive (expired)

Internet Archive provided free access to the 1.4+ million books in their lending library by creating the National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. Free access will be provided through June 16, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. 

The National Emergency Library brings together all the books from Phillips Academy Andover and Marygrove College, and much of Trent University’s collections, along with over a million other books donated from other libraries to readers worldwide.

JoVE (expired)

JoVE provided free access to their science education videos through June 15, 2020 for online STEM instruction.

JSTOR

JSTOR is providing access to a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through December 31, 2020. See a list of journal titles here.

Moreover, JSTOR is providing expanded access through June 30, 2020 to journal archives and books from participating publishers to which the University Libraries do not currently subscribe. These materials will be accessible through the JSTOR database as they become available.

Access JSTOR here:

Kanopy (expired)

Kanopy provided unlimited access to all selections from the Great Courses collection as well as select video titles from participating publishers through April 12, 2020. Kanopy also offered special pricing on requested titles through April 12, 2020. 

Project MUSE (expired)

Project MUSE provided free access to eBooks and journals from several dozen participating academic publishers, including but not limited to Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). Most materials were available through June 30, 2020.

ProQuest

Coronavirus Research Database

ProQuest is providing access to a new Coronavirus Research Database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The new cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations and other content from key publishers in one place.

Access the Coronavirus Research Database here: 

 

Ebook Central

ProQuest is providing unlimited access to all new and existing Ebook Central ebooks from participating publishers through mid-June. See more details and a list of participating publishers here.

Access the Libraries' Ebook Central ebooks here:

University Bookstore (expired)

The University Bookstore provided free access to ebooks for students who may have lost access to course materials with the rapid move to distance learning in Spring 2020.

Details were as follows:

  • Until May 25, 2020, if students shared a book with a classmate or left their books on campus, they should visit one or both of the following websites: 

VitalSource Helpshttps://bookshelf.vitalsource.com/#/user/signin

RedShelf Respondshttps://www.about.redshelf.com/redshelfresponds 

  • Both VitalSource Helps and RedShelf Responds provide access to an expansive catalog of ebooks, but some content may not be available (e.g., courseware including MyLab, Connect, or InQuizative).
  • The University Bookstore will also be working to ship out any orders for books placed at www.gsustore.com. The Bookstore has stock of Spring 2020 books remaining and will provide free shipping on any orders placed during this time.
  • To access free materials, students must use their georgiasouthern.edu email address to log in or create an account. Both sites include an FAQ page.
  • Please contact the Bookstore with any questions at textbooks@georgiasouthern.edu.