Reference Resources
Online and print reference tools
English
Reference Databases
Electronic Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
50 Success Classics, Second Edition by ISBN: 9781473658356Publication Date: 2017-10-17English / Writing & Linguistics
The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary by Call Number: PE2839.A457 2007ebISBN: 9780618857470Publication Date: 2014English / Writing & Linguistics
The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms, Second Edition by Call Number: PE2839.A47 2013ebISBN: 9780547676586Publication Date: 2013-02-26English / Writing & Linguistics
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language by Call Number: PE1628.A623 2011ISBN: 9780547041018Publication Date: 2011-11-01English / Writing & Linguistics
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style by Call Number: PE1464.A46 2005ISBN: 9780618604999Publication Date: 2005-09-28Reference, English / Writing & Linguistics
The American Heritage Roget's Thesaurus by Call Number: PE1591.A525 2013ISBN: 9780547964065Publication Date: 2014English / Writing & Linguistics
American History Through Literature, 1870-1920 by ISBN: 9780684314938Publication Date: 2005-12-01History, English / Writing & Linguistics
Blackwell Handbook of Language Development by Call Number: P118 .B583 2009eb (Online)ISBN: 9781405171595Publication Date: 2008-04-15English / Writing & Linguistics
Brewer's Curious Titles by Call Number: Z1002.B8 2002ISBN: 9780304361304Publication Date: 2002English / Writing & Linguistics
Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable by Call Number: PN43.B65 2006ISBN: 9780550105646Publication Date: 2006English / Writing & Linguistics
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable by Call Number: PN43.B65 2012ebISBN: 9780550102454Publication Date: 2014English / Writing & Linguistics
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by Call Number: P29 .C28 2010ISBN: 9780521866897Publication Date: 2010-11-15English / Writing & Linguistics
Chambers Classic Speeches by Call Number: PN6122.C43 2006ebISBN: 9780550101990Publication Date: 2006Communication Arts, English / Writing & Linguistics
Chambers Dictionary of Great Quotations by Call Number: PN6081.C424 2015ebISBN: 9781473608122Publication Date: 2015-08-10English / Writing & Linguistics
Collins English Dictionary by Call Number: PE1628$b.C549 2014ebISBN: 9780007522743Publication Date: 2015English / Writing & Linguistics
A Concise Companion to Chaucer by Call Number: PR1924 .C59 2006ebISBN: 9781405154628Publication Date: 2008-04-15English / Writing & Linguistics
The Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by Call Number: PS21.E54 2003eISBN: 9780826415172Publication Date: 2003-06-26English / Writing & Linguistics
The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature by Call Number: PR19.C66 2003ISBN: 9780826414564Publication Date: 2003-04-25English / Writing & Linguistics- The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by ISBN: 9780826415165Publication Date: 2005-09-26English / Writing & Linguistics
Critical Survey of Short Fiction by Call Number: PN3321.C7 2012ISBN: 9781587657894Publication Date: 2011-12-21English / Writing & Linguistics
Dictionary of Contemporary Slang by Call Number: PE3721 .T68 2014ISBN: 9781408181799Publication Date: 2016English / Writing & Linguistics
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by Call Number: P29.C65 2008ISBN: 9781405152969Publication Date: 2008English / Writing & Linguistics
Dictionary of Quotations by Call Number: PN6081.D495 2003ebISBN: 9780007165414Publication Date: 2003-09-01English / Writing & Linguistics
Dictionary of Untranslatables by Call Number: B51 .C313 2014ISBN: 9780691138701Publication Date: 2014-02-09English / Writing & Linguistics
Dictionary of Visual Discourse by Call Number: BH39.S257 2011ebISBN: 9781409401889Publication Date: 2016-04-07Art, English / Writing & Linguistics
Encyclopedia of American Literature by ISBN: 9781438140773Publication Date: 2013-06-01English / Writing & Linguistics
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Call Number: P29 .E48 2006eb (Online)ISBN: 9780080442990Publication Date: 2005-12-06English / Writing & Linguistics- Encyclopedia of Life Writing by ISBN: 9780203825525Publication Date: 2013-12-04English / Writing & Linguistics
- Encyclopedia of Life Writing by ISBN: 9780203825525Publication Date: 2013-12-04English / Writing & Linguistics
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English by ISBN: 9780203484326Publication Date: 2004-11-30English / Writing & Linguistics
Film Quotations: 11,000 Lines Spoken on Screen, Arranged by Subject, and Indexed by Call Number: PN1994.9 .N69 2013ISBN: 9780786474066Publication Date: 2015English / Writing & Linguistics
The Handy English Grammar Answer Book by ISBN: 9781578595204Publication Date: 2015-09-15English / Writing & Linguistics
The International Encyclopedia of Linguistic AnthropologyISBN: 9781118786093Publication Date: 07-16-2020English / Writing & Linguistics, Anthropology
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature by Call Number: PR9080.W57 2007ISBN: 9781403944481Publication Date: 2007English / Writing & Linguistics
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language by Call Number: P107 .K485 2009ISBN: 9780748626182Publication Date: 2009-01-19English / Writing & Linguistics- Key Terms in Literary Theory by Call Number: PN44.5 .K58 2011ISBN: 9780862491909Publication Date: 2012English / Writing & Linguistics
- The Macquarie Dictionary by Call Number: PE3601.Z5M327ebISBN: 9781742619811Publication Date: 2017Anthropology, English / Writing & Linguistics, Political Science & International Studies
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by Call Number: PN1021.N39 2012ISBN: 9780691154916Publication Date: 2012-08-26English / Writing & Linguistics
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms by ISBN: 9780691171999Publication Date: 2016-08-09English / Writing & Linguistics
Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk by Call Number: PE1449.R34 1995ebISBN: 9780785816935Publication Date: 1995Linguistics, Writing & Linguistics, English / Writing & Linguistics
The Routledge Handbook of Shakespeare and Memory by ISBN: 9781317596851Publication Date: 2017-08-09Theatre, English / Writing & Linguistics
Routledge Literature Companions: The Routledge Companion to World Literature by ISBN: 9780415827959Publication Date: 2013-12-05English / Writing & Linguistics
Useful Dictionary of Word and Phrase Origins by ISBN: 9781543942644Publication Date: 2018-07-24English / Writing & Linguistics
Useful Verbs and Tenses by ISBN: 9781483559063Publication Date: 2015-09-25English / Writing & Linguistics- Word Origins by Call Number: PE1580ISBN: 9780713674989Publication Date: 2005English / Writing & Linguistics
