This is the "Blog Updates" page of the "Library Assessment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

resources (including but are not limited to worksheet templates, bibliographies and rubrics, sample reports, and web links) to help evaluate the library's services & resources effectively & efficiently
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014 URL: http://georgiasouthern.libguides.com/libraryassessment Print Guide RSS Updates

Blog Updates Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How Are We Really Doing?

In order to answer “how are we really doing?”, we first must identify the areas in which we need you to provide us with feedback. Last year, we conducted a series of assessments which provided us lots of useful data to analyze to help us determine how library users felt about services and resources offered. Assessments such as the 2013 LibQual+ Survey, the Distance Learning Survey, the Foy Music Listening Survey, and Library Instruction Assessment for both students and faculty were just some of the ways in which we collected data to help us improve library services and resources.

The library’s goals and objectives are categorized according to the three dimensions from the LibQual+ survey: Affect of Service, Information Control, and Library as Place. The data obtained from this survey helps us look at the entire library from different perspectives according to undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty. The Distance Learning Survey results indicates the level of satisfaction among our distance and online learners regarding library resources and services provided to them. Our Music students and faculty complete a survey that provides information on how well the Foy Music Listening Center is meeting their needs. Lastly, the students that receive library instruction on how to conduct research answer questions indicating whether they have mastered six identified learning outcomes.

This year is no different. We continue to evaluate services and resources using the Distance Learning Survey, the Foy Music Listening Survey, and Library Instruction Assessment for both students and faculty. Additionally, we will be conducting a web usability study to help determine how easy it is to navigate the newly revised library web site. Furthermore, you may want to smile as you might be caught on video camera. Why you ask? Well, we are also conducting a space utilization study to determine 1) how existing furniture is being used, 2) what furniture is used most often, and 3) busy times to help with staff and budget requirements. Additionally, library personnel are partnering with key university stakeholders to develop a research project that will define the impact of library usage among students on their academic success and retention.

As one can see, we are busy trying to determine how well we are actually providing library resources and services. If there are any questions about the library’s assessment projects please feel free to contact the Library Assessment Officer (sgaither@georgiasouthern.edu).

 

How Effective Are We? 2013 LibQual Results

During Spring 2013 the Zach S. Henderson Library participated in a national survey of academic library effectiveness.  Students and faculty members were invited to complete a web-based patron satisfaction survey. The questionnaire, called LibQUAL+, is a large-scale assessment of library service effectiveness developed by the Association of Research Libraries in collaboration with Texas A & M University.  LibQUAL+ was patterned after the SERVQUAL instrument developed by Leonard L. Berry (Distinguished Professor, Texas A & M University), A. Parasuraman, and Valarie A. Zeithaml.  

The survey enabled us to identify what our patrons regard as our strengths and weaknesses across the several dimensions defining service quality. Read results and more on our blog. For additional information on LibQual+® or the library’s results please feel free to contact The Dean and University Librarian, Dr. Bede Mitchell (wbmitch@georgiasouthern.edu) or the Library Assessment Officer, Dr. Sonya Shepherd (sgaither@georgiasouthern.edu).

 

Assessment & Information Literacy Conferences 2013

The Assessment Officer, Dr. Sonya Shepherd, attended the 2013 Atlanta Area Bibliographic Instruction Group Conference in Atlanta, Georgia on May 17 on the campus of Mercer University.  Sonya also presented at the conference on  Lessons Learned While Developing an Effective Culture of Assessment for Library Instruction. The presentation and related resources can be found on her google siteDr. Shepherd will also make this presentation at the 10th Annual Georgia International Conference on Information Literacy to be held on August 23-24 in Savannah, Georgia. Questions regarding the presentation may be directed to sgaither@georgiasouthern.edu.

 

Busy Assessing...

Over the last year, we in the library have been busy conducting assessments and evaluating the results for continued resources and services improvements. Here is just a select list of what we have done so far

* Library Worklife - determine the quality of the library's work environment
* LibQual - determine the quality of library service 
* Foy Music Listening Center - determine Foy Music students and faculty satisfaction with the music listening center 
* Distance Learning Survey - determine Business, Education, and Nursing online learners' satisfaction with library resources and services
* Discover Service Survey - determine library user satisfaction with the use of a single search box
* Bibliographic Instruction Student Learning Outcomes and Faculty Feedback Surveys - determine whether students have mastered material covered during library instruction and solicit faculty feedback regarding the quality of student assignments after participating in library instruction sessions 
We have also compiled an inventory of assessment tools used and created an assessment template plan to help us understand what we do, how, and why. We will continue to work on the existing assessment plans as well as identify new opportunities for ways to improve.
 

Establishing a Culture of Assessment: To Do Or Not To Do?

What is assessment? Why do we keep talking about it? Well, assessment is simply the process of collecting information for systematic self-reflection, evidence-based decision-making, and improvement in education. This process can be done in a number of ways including surveys, focus groups, interviews, and observations. Talking about assessment is important but conducting it is even better. Over the last year, we in the library have been busy conducting assessments to help evaluate the results obtained in order to continue providing the highest level of service and quality resources needed to support the mission of Georgia Southern.  A select list of library assessments conducted includes:

 * Library Worklife Survey - determine the quality of the library's work environment

* LibQual+ - determine the quality of library service and resources provided

* Foy Music Listening Center - determine satisfaction levels of Foy Music students and faculty with the music listening center 

* Distance Learning Survey - determine Business, Education, and Nursing online learners' satisfaction with library resources and services

* Discover Service Survey - determine library user satisfaction with the use of a single search box

* Bibliographic Instruction Student Learning Outcomes and Faculty Feedback Surveys - determine whether students have mastered research skills taught during library instruction as well as solicit faculty feedback regarding the quality of students’ assignments after participating in library instruction sessions 

 We know it is very time consuming providing feedback on the many surveys we have distributed. We appreciate and value the feedback you have given us. Your feedback is taken very seriously and is used to make improvements. So we take this time to say “thank you”. At times we are able to offer incentives for providing your feedback.

 This year we offered participants an opportunity to enter into a couple of drawings that were held after two of our surveys – LibQual+ and Distance Learning Survey. Five $20 gift cards to Starbucks were awarded to those participating in the Distance Learning Survey. While five $15 gift cards to Zach’s Brews Coffee Shop were awarded as secondary prizes and the grand prize, a Google Chromebook, was awarded for participating in the LibQual+ drawing.

 We’d like to congratulate the following students who received Starbucks’ gift cards: Kelly Colvin, Scott Curley, Mike Cristancho, Matthew Graham, and Ayoko Dogbe.

 We’d also like to congratulate the following students who won Zach’s Brews gift cards: Meosha Banks, Sonia Wade, Mark Shultz, Joel Pabon, and Emelina Perez.

 The Grand Prize Winner of the Google Chromebook was Madison Hooker.

Madison received her prize from Library Dean, Dr. W. Bede Mitchell. Congratulations!

 

Additionally, we have compiled an inventory of assessment tools used as well as created an assessment plan template to help us understand what we do, how, and why. We will continue to work on the existing assessment plan as well as identify new opportunities for ways to improve. We are on track for having an established culture of assessment in the library.

 

Furthermore, the University is preparing for its 2015 Accreditation Reaffirmation visit from the Southern Accreditation on Colleges and Schools’ Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). In preparation for this visit, library personnel and select campus partners will address the following core requirement and standards:

 

1)      2.9: The institution, through ownership or formal arrangements or agreements, provides and supports student and faculty access and user privileges to adequate library collections as well as to other learning/information resources consistent with the degrees offered. These collections and resources are sufficient to support all its educational, research, and public service programs.

2)      3.8.1: The institution provides facilities, services, and learning/information resources that are appropriate to support its teaching, research, and service mission.

3)      3.8.2: The institution ensures that users have access to regular and timely instruction in the use of the library and other learning/information resources.

4)      3.8.3: The institution provides a sufficient number of qualified staff – with appropriate education or experiences in library and/or other learning/information resources – to accomplish the mission of the institution.

 Lastly, additional information about the library’s assessment efforts may be found on the Assessment Google site - https://sites.google.com/a/georgiasouthern.edu/assessment/ or you may contact the Library Assessment Officer (Dr. Sonya Shepherd - sgaither@georgiasouthern.edu) with additional questions or comments.

 

Ideas for Assessment Tools

If you''d like a few ideas for tools to use when collecting data for assessment purposes try one of the following:
 
- instant polling : Using a computer or a cell phone, this tool combines assessment and engagement to determine if students are on track with what they're being taught and/or have learned what was intended for them to learn. Sites such as Polldaddy, Poll Everywhere, and Zoomerang can be used. Clickers (audience response systems) may also be used.
-pre- and post tests: Giving students a quiz that covers the learning outcomes to be presented during class will help with needs assessment using the pre-test data. After giving the post-test, data can be used  to determine whether and how much content the students learned. This can be done using a paper quiz or online (e.g. Zoomerang, Survey Monkey, Google Form).
- worksheets and rubrics - These items contain questions about information presented based on the learning outcomes. Students will complete the worksheets. The answers they provide will be graded based on the rubric. Reports can be giving to librarians and teaching faculty. Based on the results, additional resources related to the learning outcomes can be given to the students as needed.  
- minute paper/muddiest point - Students are asked to write down the most important thing they'd like to learn during the class session or write down any lingering questions that need clarifying. Follow-up with the student and or teaching faculty based on feedback provided.
 
Ideas provided via emal (6/20/2011) from Jennifer Link Jones, Assessment & Staff Development Librarian, Georgia State University
 

New Assessment Site

A site consisting of assessment resources has been created to help develop and maintain the library's assessment plan. Links to web sites, templates, blogs, and other relevant assessment resources are available. Please feel free to take a look at the site and leave any feedback regarding additional resources to add or feel free to share any ideas for conducting assessment in the library.

 

New Library Assessment Officer Appointed

Dr. Sonya Shepherd has accepted the position of Library Assessment Officer in the Zach S. Henderson Library. Reporting to the Dean of the Library, she will collaborate with all library units to create and manage assessments of library services and instruction. In addition to these responsibilities, Dr. Shepherd will continue to serve as Library Liaison to the College of Education, offer research assistance at the Learning Commons Desk, and contribute to the Library’s instruction and collection development activities.
 
More information about Dr. Shepherd is available on her blog - http://blogs.georgiasouthern.edu/drshepherd.

Dean of the Library

Profile Image
Bede Mitchell
Contact Info
wbmitch@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5115
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip